22
Apr
2019
22
Apr
2019
Time
Monday 15:30
Location
Tonhalle MAAG Zurich
Composer
Sergei Rachmaninoff, Bedřich Smetana, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Smetana THE MOLDAU | Rachmaninoff PIANO CONCERTO NO. 2 | Rimsky-Korsakov SCHEHERAZADE — 22 Apr 15:30
Sergei Rachmaninoff | Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
Bedřich Smetana | The Moldau – 2nd symphonic poem from the set “My Homeland”
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov | Scheherazade, Op. 35

Our evening concert will open with Smetana’s poem “The Moldau” from his famous set “My Homeland” (Czech: Má vlast). The main theme emphatically runs through the whole piece and represents the author’s adaptation of the Italian renaissance melody “La Mantovana” which is also the basis for the Israeli national anthem, Hatikvah.    

The second work will be Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18. This piece was composed between 1901 and 1902, after Rachmaninoff had experienced a deep creative crisis, and consequently coincided in time with his relief. Moreover, this romantic concert in three movements reflects the melancholy that accompanied Rachmaninoff for a long time. Tonight this work will be performed by the internationally renowned pianist Andrei Gavrilov.   

Afterwards, the orchestra will dedicate itself to the symphonic work of Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: the musicians will perform Scheherazade, a tale from 1001 nights. King Shahryar, who became convinced of the disloyalty of his brides, vowed that he would execute a new bride every day, was however saved by Scheherazade, being captivated by her tales. Scheherazade is a masterful symphony full of harmony and longing where the last word retains the “eternal” solo violin melody embodying Scheherazade’s soft voice.

ARTISTS
Promoter
Concert Media
Location
Tonhalle MAAG Zurich
ADDRESS
Zahnradstrasse 22, 8005 Zürich, Schweiz
PHONE NUMBER
Tickethotline: +41 44 206 34 34
Upcoming events
view calendar
07
Dec
2019
Sa
20:00
Beethoven | Symphony No. 5
Gewandhaus in Leipzig
The concert this evening will begin with the Overture to “The Marriage of Figaro”, K. 492. by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
You might also like..
26
Dec
2019
16:00
Smetana | The Moldau
Tonhalle MAAG Zurich
26
Dec
2019
19:30
Smetana | The Moldau
Tonhalle MAAG Zurich
more ...

22
Apr
2019
22
Apr
2019
Zeit
Montag 15:30
Komponist
Sergei Rachmaninow, Bedřich Smetana, Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow
OSTERKONZERT: DIE MOLDAU
Rachmaninoff 2. KLAVIERKONZERT
Rimski-Korsakow SCHEHERAZADE — 22 Apr 15:30
TICKETS KAUFEN
Sergei Rachmaninow | 2. Konzert für Klavier und Orchester c-Moll op. 18
Bedřich Smetana | Die Moldau - 2. Sinfonische Dichtung aus dem Zyklus "Mein Vaterland"
Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow | Scheherazade op. 35

Der Konzertabend wird mit dem berühmten Werk Die Moldau von Bedřich Smetana aus dem Zyklus Mein Vaterland (Má vlast) eröffnet. Prägnant fließt das Hauptmotiv durch das gesamte Werk, welches von Smetana aus dem berühmten Renaissance-Lied „La Mantovana“ verarbeitet wurde und beispielsweise auch in der populären israelischen Nationalhymne rezipiert wird.
Es folgt als zweites Werk des heutigen Abends das 2. Konzert für Klavier und Orchester in c-Moll op. 18 von Sergej Rachmaninow. Dieses Werk wurde von Rachmaninow zwischen 1901 und 1902 nach einer schweren Schaffenskrise komponiert und kommt geradezu einer Befreiung für den russischen Komponisten gleich. Das romantische Konzert in drei Sätzen spiegelt darüber hinaus aber auch die Melancholie Rachmaninows wider, die ihn lange begleitete. Am Klavier sitzt hierzu der international bekannte und renommierte Pianist Andrei Gavrilov.
Im weiteren Verlauf des Abends widmet sich das Orchester der sinfonischen Dichtung von Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow: der Scheherazade, einer Erzählung aus 1001 Nacht. Der Sultan Schahriar war überzeugt von der Untreue seiner Frauen und ließ jede nach der ersten Nacht töten. Scheherazade aber rettete ihr Leben, indem sie den Sultan mit Märchenerzählungen in ihren Bann zog. Eine meisterhafte Sinfonie, voller Wohlklang und Sehnsucht. Das letzte Wort behält die »ewige« Melodie der Solovioline, also Scheherazades sanfte Stimme.

KÜNSTLER
Veranstalter
Concert Media
Location
ADDRESS
PHOHE NUMBER
Tickethotline:
Kommende Veranstaltungen
Kalender anzeigen
21
Apr
2019
So
16:00
OSTERKONZERT:
W. A. MOZART
PHILHARMONISCHES KAMMERORCHESTER BERLIN
Die zeitlosen Meisterwerke Mozarts erklingen im Osterkonzert in der Tonhalle MAAG in Zürich. Zur brillanten Eröffnung des Konzertabends erklingt die Ouvertüre Die Hochzeit des Figaro KV 492.