Friday 19:30
Tonhalle Zürich
Alexander Borodin, Antonín Leopold Dvořák, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Borodin | Polovtsian dances | Tchaikovsky 1st Violin Concerto | Dvořák 9th Symphony "From the New World" — 27 Jan 19:30
Alexander Borodin | Polovetsian Dances
Antonín Leopold Dvořák | Symphony Nr. 9 "Aus der Neuen Welt"
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky | Piano Concerto No. 1

Concert Media AG invites to an atmospheric concert of the "Warsaw Festival Orchestra" in the Tonhalle Zurich. The pianist is Alexander Ghindin, one of the greatest soloists of his generation. Under the direction of Rimma Sushanskaya, the audience will experience famous masterpieces by Borodin, Tchaikovsky and Dvořák.
The concert will be opened with the most famous selections of Alexander Borodin's opera Prince Igor - "Polovtsian dances". The "Polovtsian Dances" were among the pieces that were removed during the lifetime of Borodin from the opera for concertante performances. At the end of the second act of the opera, Konthak, the Kuman prince ("Khan"), a Turkic-speaking nomadic people whose Slavic name is Polovzer, holds a feast to greet his captive, whom he has treated very humanely. the Russian prince Igor to show the beauties of the Cuman life.

This is followed by a second work, the first Piano Concerto in B minor op. 23 by Tchaikovsky from 1874, which was initially despised by his mentor, but then rehearsed by the conductor and pianist Hans von Bülow and led to great fame. At the piano sits the internationally experienced pianist Alexander Ghindin. He has always been popular with critics and music lovers and is recognized as one of the most talented and original pianists of today. Even before graduating from the Conservatory, at the age of 17, he was the youngest winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. He then won the second prize in the international Queen Elisabeth Piano Competition in Brussels in 1999. These successes allowed him a quick entry into the world of the masters.

After the break, the audience awaits the 9th Symphony "From the New World" by Antonín Dvořák. Antonín Dvorák called his "New World" his ninth and final symphony, which premiered in 1893 at Carnegie Hall New York. Although the symphony was written in the United States, "From the New World" can not be called American music.

Tonhalle Zürich
Claridenstrasse 7, 8002 Zürich
Tickethotline: +41 44 206 34 34
Upcoming events
view calendar
Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1
Philharmonie Berlin
You might also like..